Home > Film, Rants > Web Roundup: For the Love of the Force, Do NOT Buy the Star Wars Blu-ray Set

Web Roundup: For the Love of the Force, Do NOT Buy the Star Wars Blu-ray Set

Sigh. This is your Web Roundup today, because after hearing this news I just don’t have the motivation to compile some links. Ain’t It Cool News got word today that Lucas has made two audio-based alterations to the original trilogy for the upcoming blu-ray set. Now, I’d like to note that the clips above and below are not from the actual blu-ray; they claim that only the updated audio edits leaked, so the clips above and below are those supposed leaks synced up with existing video. I want to believe this isn’t true, but too many refutable news sources have gotten confirmation from people inside.

So, what are these atrocities? Well first off at the end of Return of the Jedi, specifically the very powerful scene where Vader saves his son’s life by throwing the Emperor over the edge, instead of a silent contemplation then swift action Vader now shouts “nooooooooo!” ala Episode III before grabbing the Emperor. I just…I…WHY. Why would even LUCAS think this is a good idea? It was publicly derided as the lamest moment of the prequels, that stupid “nooooo!” Honestly, what the hell.

Honestly people, please, PLEASE do not buy this blu-ray set. Tell Lucas that you’re sick of him making all these alterations, and tell him the way people like him listen: with your wallets. The reason this stuff keeps happening is because despite how much we complain and freak out, we still buy the bloody things so they think we’re into it. Stop buying. I know I won’t be, I’ve already canceled my Amazon pre-order. I won’t bother posting the second alteration because I don’t want to tarnish the front page even further than I already have. They alter Obi-Wan’s dragon call in A New Hope from an animal noise to what sounds like him getting some action from one of the cantina girls.

If I’ve ruined anyone’s day with this news, I apologize.

  1. August 30, 2011 at 6:03 PM

    As much as this saddens me I will still buy the set. I have a four year old son and I want to get it for him. The few times he’s seen parts on TV he’s loved it. I want him to love it as much as I do.

    • August 30, 2011 at 6:16 PM

      Well I can definitely get behind bringing in a new generation. If I may, I would recommend getting this DVD set that’s still available in a lot of stores for $30 (I have no idea why it’s so expensive on Amazon): http://www.amazon.com/Star-Wars-Trilogy-Harrison-Ford/dp/B001EN71DG/ref=sr_1_1?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1314753103&sr=1-1

      These DVDs are original trilogy, but WITHOUT all the “Special Edition” changes. The discs contain both versions, Special Edition and Original Theatrical cuts. I’ve watched them on a 60″ LCD through a blu-ray player and they look very, very nice. This way you get to expose him to the exact same presentation that you fell in love with.

      Of course if you still want to get the blu-ray set because you think he’ll like all the new effects and stuff, then go for it. Your situation is one where I can certainly approve of buying the new set.

  2. DarthF**kNoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    August 31, 2011 at 7:36 AM

    The older I get, the more I realize that George Lucas is a one-trick pony and kind of a loser. I still cherish the original theatrical releases of the Holy Trilogy. Revenge of the Sith’s better moments nearly made up for the lameness of the prequels and Clone Wars is surprisingly good, but that’s because George is not writing on that show, only exec producing.

  1. September 12, 2011 at 9:48 AM

Leave a Reply

