Home > Cool Stuff, Geek Shopping Network, Hilarious > William Shatner Rocks Out on His Latest Album

William Shatner Rocks Out on His Latest Album

September 13, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Most people don’t realize that over the last 40 years or so William Shatner has put out nearly a dozen albums. His classic rendering of “Rocket Man” has been parodied more times than I can count. Granted, his particular sound may not be pleasing even to the most loyal of Trekkies, but this latest album of mostly classic rock tunes… actually sounds pretty decent. Hit the jump for more details and a full track list.

The album features collaborations with some pretty big names in music such as Peter Frampton, Zakk Wylde, Steve Miller, Brad Paisley and Michael Schenker. Here’s a peek at the track list:

1. Major Tom (Coming Home)
2. Space Oddity
3. In A Little While
4. Space Cowboy
5. Space Truckin
6. Rocket Man
7. She Blinded Me With Science
8. Walking On The Moon
9. Spirit In The Sky
10. Bohemian Rhapsody
11. Silver Machine
12. Mrs. Major Tom
13. Empty Glass
14. Lost In The Stars
15. Learning To Fly
16. Mr. Spaceman
17. Twilight Zone
18. Struggle
19. Iron Man
20. Planet Earth

The album – which comes on CD and Vinyl! – releases on October 11th, but if you want a taste head on over to the pre-order page at Amazon where you can sample every track. Also, you can check out “Iron Man” in its entirety by clicking here.

My only point of contention is the album artwork.  I can’t decide if it’s purposefully bad or what. As for the music, “Learning to Fly”, “Twilight Zone” and “She Blinded Me With Science” are some of my favorites. Sound off below in the comments and tell me yours!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: